Speeding Tickets in New Jersey

Speeding tickets in New Jersey are handled in municipal courts. For a directory of courts for counties there, click on the links below:

Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County Cumberland County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Passaic County
Salem County
Somerset County
Warren County

New Jersey Speeding Tickets

We do NOT handle New Jersey speeding tickets.
Please see our ads below:




Speeding tickets in New Jersey can be expensive. In addition to fines and penalties imposed by the Court, you can get points on your MVC record, MVC may surcharge you for those points, and your insurance rates may go up. The fines themselves are not that much (compared to New York at least). NJ fines are typically less than $300, and many traffic violations have fines under $100.

Traffic matters in NJ are handled by New Jersey Traffic Courts. We have represented many NJ drivers on their NY speeding tickets.

For New Jersey drivers, speeding tickets and other offenses, including out-of-state tickets, accumulate points on your MVC record. Insurance companies count these points, along with points for some other offenses (see below). In general, the number of points on your record will affect the level of your premiums. If you accumulate more than 8 points, you will become ineligible for insurance in the "voluntary market", and will have to buy insurance in an "assigned risk" plan. These plans are dramatically more expensive than the voluntary market.

For out-of-state drivers, there is no simple answer. New Jersey reports some moving violations to the "Drivers License Compact", and this can affect insurance rates in some states. New York drivers should not be affected - New York does not recognize out-of-state tickets (except, strangely, from Ontario and Quebec) and they do not appear on a NY driving record. Many other states recognize out-of-state tickets, and they do affect insurance. New Jersey, for example, recognizes all out-of-state moving violations as 2 points. If you are a New Jersey driver and get a speeding ticket in New York, you should consider hiring a New York traffic lawyer.

The information below comes from the MVC website, as of February 2006. Please check that website to make sure you have the most up-to-date information.

POINT SYSTEM

When you get convicted of a moving violation the MVC records points on your New Jersey record. The NJ point system chart is below. It is important to note that for insurance purposes, NJ insurance companies have a parallel system. Most of the points assessed are the same. The major difference is that some offenses which do not have points under the MVC system do have points for insurance purposes, such as drunk driving, refusing a chemical test, operating while suspended, operating without insurance, being at fault for an accident, and a few others. It is also possible that the insurance system will recognize out-of-state tickets for a higher point value than the MVC assigns. A high speed in NY will still be 2 points on your MVC record. But it could be more points for insurance purposes. You should consult with a NJ traffic lawyer (or your insurance broker) on this to be sure.

MVC Surcharges
If you are assigned points on your Driver License, you will have to pay point surcharges (see below) in addition to any court-imposed fines and penalties.
    •      Surcharges remain operational as long as a motorist has six or more points on record resulting from violations posted in the preceding three years.
    •     The point total is based on the date the violations are posted to your record, not the date when the violations occurred.
    •     If the surcharge is not paid, MVC will suspend all driving privileges indefinitely and take judgment action filed in the state Superior Court, which may include securing a lien against any real property that you own, a garnishment of your wages, or other similar actions.

Point surcharges:

Point reductions issued for one year of violation or suspension-free driving, or for completion of a driver improvement school or defensive driving course are not considered in reviewing the three year record for surcharge purposes.
    •     $150  for  six points, and (effective July 1, 2004)
    •     $25 for each additional point

Additional surcharges:
    •      $100 for driving while unlicensed
    •      $250 for driving while suspended
    •      $100 for failing to insure a MOPED
    •      $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle

Point Violation Notices

MVC will automatically send an Advisory Notice if your point total is between 6 and 11. For a total of 12 or more points, MVC will issue an automatic Notice of Scheduled Suspension.

Points Remain on your Driver History Record
Even after your license is restored, all point violations remain on your permanent Driver History Record. However, this record differs from your current driver status; your current status equals the point total minus the point credit deductions.

The table below (along with much of this content) is from the MVC website.

NJSA
Section:
offense Points
New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and Atlantic City Expressway
27:23-29 Moving against traffic 2
27:23-29 Improper passing

4

27:23-29 Unlawful use of median strip 2
All roads and highways
39:3-20 Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph 3
39:4-14.3 Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway 2
39:4-14.3d More than one person on a motorized bicycle 2
39:4-35 Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk 2
39:4-36 Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk 2
39:4- 41 Driving through safety zone
2
39:4-52 Racing on highway
5
39:4-55 Improper action or omission on grades and curves
2
39:4-57 Failure to observe direction of officer
2
39:4-66 Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk
2
39:4-66.1 Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway 2
39:4-66.2 Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal
2
39:4-71 Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk
2
39:4-80 Failure to obey direction of officer
2
39:4-81 Failure to observe traffic signals
2
39:4-82 Failure to keep right
2
39:4-82.1 Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider
2
39:4-83 Failure to keep right at intersection 2

39:4-84

Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction
5
39:4-85 Improper passing on right or off roadway
4
39:4-85.1 Wrong way on a one-way street
2
39:4-86 Improper passing in no passing zone
4
39:4-87 Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle
2
39:4-88 Failure to observe traffic lanes
2
39:4-89 Tailgating
5
39:4-90 Failure to yield at intersection 2
39:4-90.1 Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways
2
39:4-91-92 Failure to yield to emergency vehicles
2
39:4-96 Reckless driving
5
39:4-97 Careless driving
2
39:4-97a Destruction of agricultural or recreational property
2
39:4-97.1 Slow speed blocking traffic
2
39:4-97.2 Driving in an unsafe manner (points only assessed for the third or subsequent violation(s) within a five-year period.)
4
39:4-98 Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit 2
39:4-99 Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit
4
Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit
5
39:4-105 Failure to stop for traffic light
2
39:4-115 Improper turn at traffic light 3
39:4-119 Failure to stop at flashing red signal
2
39:4-122 Failure to stop for police whistle
2
39:4-123 Improper right or left turn
3
39:4-124 Improper turn from approved turning course
3
39:4-125 Improper U-turn
3
39:4-126 Failure to give proper signal
2
39:4-127 Improper backing or turning in street
2
39:4-127.1 Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing
2
39:4-127.2 Improper crossing of bridge
2
39:4-128 Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles
2
39:4-128.1 Improper passing of school bus
5
39:4-128.4 Improper passing of frozen dessert truck 4
39:4-129 Leaving the scene of an accident - No personal injury
2
Personal injury
8
39:4-144 Failure to observe stop or yield signs
2
39:5C-1 Racing on highway
5
39:5D-4 Moving violation out of state 2
    
The Redlich Law Firm
Albany NY Speeding Ticket Lawyer
español